Summer break.

I have to confess, I’ve been a bad blogger. Not that I have forgotten about Colombia: actually, I’ve found myself closer to it than I’ve ever been in a very unexpected way. By enjoying the Parisian life during summertime. Sounds weird huh? Well, gather ’round people, today’s Sunday and the perfect time for a story.

Along the Seine in Paris.

Along the Seine in Paris.

So investigating has been my main hobby since a year and a half and I should probably register myself as a French version of Sherlock Holmes now, no offense to Sir Conan Doyle, but how about a female detective in heels, drinking red wine, living in St Germain-des-Prés? Sounds nice, isn’t it? I’ve already talked about identity and how to deal with culture shock on a previous post,  so it seemed obvious to hit the pavement and find an answer to all that beautiful mess. I kind of did on the 20th of July, during Colombia Independence Day: I certainly won’t forget dancing salsa on a basketball court by 35 degrees or eating a 5 euro arepa with cheese, but that’s another story…

Salsa show during Colombia Independence Day.

Salsa show during Colombia Independence Day.

Anyway the answer was there, among all those Colombians who came to celebrate their country’s independence by sharing a bit of their culture. One may feel like a stranger in his/her own country or even after living in a different land for 10 years or so, yet, connecting with others is the key. It’s amazing how seeing your country through someone else’s eyes, sharing stories and bits of lives can soothe the heart. And Paris is not a bad place to figure it out! A friend told me: “It felt like home for a day”: it really did. I’m glad I was able to celebrate with them as I also felt at home, in a strange way.

Someone very dear asked me a question lately and I was surprised to already know the answer.

“Are you comfortable now, where you are?”.

I can say I am. Actualy, I fell I can be comfy no matter where I am, up to the point I even quit wearing tights with skirts by 35°. That’s the bad-ass chick talking.

Anyway, this Colombian journey is taking a brand new direction: a new job coming up, another skill to add to my character’s sheet, my circle of friends changing slowly with new faces showing up, other ones fading away and who knows, maybe a new flat in the City of Lights in a few months. Considering the rentals, it might not be in St Germain though. Oh well, I can kiss my glamour detective style goodbye. My goal hasn’t changed a bit, I only swapped my magnifying glass for a panoramic view. Now I bid you adieu and I’m going to pour myself a glass of Bordeaux and call it a night. Who said you can’t be stylish in pyjamas! Hasta la proxima! 

About Amertine

35, living in Paris. Heart divided between France and Colombia. Shivers at the sound of flamenco and salsa. Loves bluegrass music and completely at ease with it. Passionate about plants, natural and ancestral medicines and knowledge. Suffers from Endometriosis.
This entry was posted in Colombia, France, Friendship, Life, Meeting people and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

