Of Insomnia and Inspiration

Lately, I’ve been struggling really hard with insomnia. The fact that I’ve been travelling a lot during the past year probably didn’t help my body to understand that 4 am is NOT a good time to be awake and certainly not the time to check what’s going on at the other side of the world (thank you Facebook and Whatsapp to keep me linked to my mates but you know how to ruin my nights as well). I’ve also been under some kind of a so-called health treatment that did a huge mess on me, you know this kind of heavy shit which temporarily cures one thing but messes out everything else in your body? Yeah, this one. Strangely, even if the last 3 months have been a total nightmare, it has also been the perfect time to fix myself a few goals and stick to them. Here we go again, same old two options: seeing the glass half full or half empty…  mine has now a tendency of brimming over!

catseye

A bunch of Daring girls.

Putting myself into art again, that’s what I needed. You can also buy a good bottle of negativity repellent but it’s quite hard to find one (in France at least, no offence to my compatriots who are constantly complaining about everything). No, I’m not that kind of person who can spend 2 hours watching a blank canvas with polka dots with tears blinding my eyes, I’m more like a makeup/comics/street art kinda girl, who can spend 2 hours transfixed by a zombie makeup or a weird punk staring at me saying “I will dance on your grave” (see picture below).

Street art in the center of Bogota.

About a month ago, after seeing a tv show that basically changed my perception of life (I could never thank my Aussie twin enough for that), I choose to take a pencil again and draw some stuff, after years of thinking I wasn’t good enough and guess what? I loved it. Barney Stinson would have said: “When I’m sad, I stop being sad and be awesome instead” and everyone knows that awesomeness takes practice right?! Seeing my enthusiastic 2 year-old niece drawing faces day after day on her small blackboard with a smile up to the sky makes me think that Barney got it all figured out. Or maybe that little girl did.

So I tried to enter the competition myself, with shaking hands: since I haven’t touched a pencil for years, it is certainly not perfect but Daring Girl is out so here’s what I have committed lately:

IMAG0968

IMAG0976

Yeah, Mohawk’s kinda crazy…hum.

You might find it amusing that I’ve spent like half an hour thinking “should I post those drawings or not?” before hitting publish… well, Daring Girl might speak her mind but is constantly working on her confidence skills. I am lucky enough to be surrounded by so many talented artists, writers, singers, musicians, dancers and little faces makers that always give me inspiration and keep me focused and motivated.

So tell me, what keeps you people awake at night? What inspires you? What kind of artist lies inside of you?

About Amertine

35, living in Paris. Heart divided between France and Colombia. Shivers at the sound of flamenco and salsa. Loves bluegrass music and completely at ease with it. Passionate about plants, natural and ancestral medicines and knowledge. Suffers from Endometriosis.
This entry was posted in Art, Health, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

