The purpose of blogging

I remember quite well the first time I thought about putting up a blog. I was supposed to move to Canada for a year with a working-holiday visa and give a new country a go. So I thought “what’s better than creating a travel blog, to stay in touch with family and friends?”. I got all excited about that online diary, on which I could tell everyone about my Canadian adventures: eating pancakes with maple syrup while watching a snowstorm in Montreal, looking for a job in crazy Toronto or daydreaming by the waterfront in Vancouver. But sometimes, things don’t go according to plan and I didn’t make it to Canadian lands. And I slowly forgot about that blogging thing…

Until Colombia.

shakespeareIt’s been 8 months since I came back from that first big travel and today I can finally write about it. Why now? I can give you tons of reasons: it’s rainy and dark outside, so it’s just the perfect time to do it; I have a good cup of tea on my desk and my favourite Tom Waits’ album playing in the background, small things can give you great inspiration; I had a two-hour nap this afternoon after a sleepless night and I feel like writing now would be a great way to dust my brain off (and yes, your brain is still functioning even though you feel like a walking-dead in slippers) I also believe that you should age good wine in a good cellar and thoughts deserve the same diet.

This blog was supposed to be a simple travel blog, one among the zillion you can find on the web. Then it slowly became a bit more personal: as I wrote my first posts, the thoughts came out so easily that I quickly understood it was no use of trying to hold them back. I now understand the “need” of creating your own blog and the importance of sharing with others. Because it’s all about that in the end, sharing experiences (whether it’s personal or more general stuff) and bits of lives.

2011-11_australia

And there are two people who, at different levels, inspired me a great deal: one of them is an Australian screenwriter who gives a 100% of himself in his work no matter what and whose creativity and commitment are seriously infectious. Every week, he challenges himself to deliver a new story on the web and I’m so glad to know a few directors/producers has already contacted him to make his stories into movies. And that’s all he deserves! The other one is also a writer, a traveler and yoga addict I met in Colombia. And she’s Australian too… coincidence?? I’ve found in her writing a strong echo to my own experiences and that echo has awoken in me the urge to write also. We’ve been co-workers for a couple of weeks there and I wish we had more time to spend together. I follow her blog every day and when I lack inspiration, she gives me just what I need to get back on track.

To Rob and Sarah: thank you so much!

About Amertine

35, living in Paris. Heart divided between France and Colombia. Shivers at the sound of flamenco and salsa. Loves bluegrass music and completely at ease with it. Passionate about plants, natural and ancestral medicines and knowledge. Suffers from Endometriosis.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

