Paris, Bogotá: a long distance love affair

With Bogotá, it was love at first sight.We have been separated twice already and every time I landed in France, I had insomnia, felt sadness, huge withdrawal symptoms… Every morning, I wake up with Colombia in my mind and when I go to sleep, I still dream about being there.This time is going to be challenging as I don’t know when I would be able to go back…

So how to cope with the unexpected, without becoming loca?! Here’s my very own recipe, that I made up recently when I had to stay in bed for a few days. I used to be a really hardcore list writer, and I think this one is actually one of the best one I’ve ever came up with:

Noche de velitas in Bogotá (copyright Lili Cansado)

Noche de velitas in Bogotá.

  • Enjoying family time. I’ve never really felt homesick in Colombia, mostly because I’ve been really well surrounded from the beginning. My friends were my family there and the bond is still stronger despite the 8700 km. So I was supposed to spend Christmas there, but guess what? Someone/something (I’m not talking about God here, but maybe Joe Pesci…) had other plans for me. A Christmas time spent with loving parents, a sister who became the Queen of Zumba, an awesome brother-in-law (I’m really considering removing that “in-law” thing) and a cute little niece that I only see growing up through Skype. Sometimes life knows how to do it right.
  • Taking care of yourself. Sounds obvious, doesn’t it? After many nights of rumba dancing until 4 or 5 am, well, it was bound to happen. My body had enough and let me know it quite clearly. Thanks to martial arts, meditation and healthy food (but don’t get me wrong, I’m French ok. So there won’t be any good Christmas time without wine!) I got back on track. Talking about good resolutions, why the Hell wait until the 31st of December?!

Poulbot baguette

  • Travelling to Europe. I had two options: either feeling “stuck” in France (how sad is it to be stuck in Paris anyway, especially around Christmas… all those Christmas markets everywhere, people eating foie gras and drinking mulled wine…  scary right?!!!) or making the most of my time to share moments with my family and friends. Easy to choose, right?
  • Finding a job… without needing a visa! Being unemployed since a while makes it difficult to live and travel but fortunately, I managed to organize myself enough with the precious help of my entourage. The good thing about looking for a job here, is that you can work in every part of Europe for a few months, legally, without having to make an encyclopaedia of paperwork that can eat you alive if you miss something. Where will I be next time? I don’t have a clue. And it’s exciting!

In a nutshell, I absolutely enjoyed this break. as I call it. Colombia is the place my heart lies and Europe is where my loved ones are. Life could be worse!   

About Amertine

35, living in Paris. Heart divided between France and Colombia. Shivers at the sound of flamenco and salsa. Loves bluegrass music and completely at ease with it. Passionate about plants, natural and ancestral medicines and knowledge. Suffers from Endometriosis.
This entry was posted in Europe, France and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

